The Name of the Wind Summary

Patrick Rothfuss
- 2007
This book is good to read when you feel enchanted.

Key Takeaways

  1. Kvothe's narrative, which spans joy, tragedy, and the pursuit of knowledge, captivates with its depth and the complexity of its protagonist.
  2. The richly detailed world and the system of magic are both logically constructed and deeply integrated into the characters' lives and the story’s plot.
  3. Rothfuss’s lyrical prose and the framing device of a story told at an inn lend the tale a timeless and epic quality.


The story is narrated by Kvothe, now living as an innkeeper, who recounts his adventurous past to a chronicler over three days, each corresponding to a book in the trilogy.

Kvothe's journey from a precocious child to a powerful figure known across the land involves challenges at a magical university, romantic entanglements, and confrontations with mythical beings.

The novel combines elements of fantasy, romance, and mystery, crafting a compelling coming-of-age story that explores themes of loss, identity, and ambition.

Also recommended

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

J.K. Rowling
- 1997
Young Adult
J.K. Rowling’s debut novel introduces Harry Potter, a young boy who discovers on his eleventh birthday that he is a wizard and has been accepted to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The book launches readers into a world where magic is real, and adventure lies around every corner, setting the stage for an epic saga of good versus evil.Read summary

The Hobbit

J.R.R. Tolkien
- 1937
J.R.R. Tolkien’s 'The Hobbit' is a classic in fantasy literature, introducing readers to the world of Middle-earth. The story follows Bilbo Baggins, a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable and unambitious life until he is swept away on an epic quest by the wizard Gandalf and a group of dwarves, setting the stage for the larger tale of 'The Lord of the Rings'.Read summary

A Wizard of Earthsea

Ursula K. Le Guin
- 1968
Young Adult
Ursula K. Le Guin’s 'A Wizard of Earthsea' is the first in a series of books set in the Earthsea universe. The novel follows the story of Ged, a young boy with innate magical talent who attends a school of wizardry, where he must learn to control his powers and face a dark shadow creature of his own making.Read summary
Book Summaries|Book Lists|Tools